Kogi Decides: updates, situation reports


2:24 pm: PU 001, Odaki Koton Karfe. Total registered voters: 844. Security operatives are present. PO complained that the voters are rowdy and not orderly. A magnifying glass was reportedly provided by INEC.


2:23 pm: Pressmen converge at Dino Melaye’s house after he failed to cast his vote at his polling unit over alleged irregularities.

2:20 pm: Officials from the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) have arrived at Ayetoro-Gbede, the polling unit of the PDP candidate for Kogi State, Dino Melaye.

12:58 pm: The chairman of  Igala-mela/Odolu LGA and his gang apprehended with cash and ammunition by the military.

12: 38 pm: INEC reacts to reports of filled sheets and pledges to the issue seriously in a social media post on X.

12:30 pm: Yahaya Bello claims violence in Kogi is only on the media and not a reality on ground. He said, “It is a figment of imagination by those who are not on the ground. Go into history, go into records. Compare my own regime and that of the previous ones. In the regime of Yahaya Bello, the conduct of elections has been the most free, fair, and credible and violent-free.”

12:15 pm: The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has cancelled the election in 67 polling units in Ogori-Magongo local government area.

The cancellation followed a serious protest by residents of Magongo community over the written results on the result sheet while accreditation and voting had not commenced in the polling units.

12:08 pm: Voting is ongoing at Okada bus stop, Ajaka Ward 01, PU 020, Igalamela Odolu LGA, Kogi State. The total number of voters in this polling unit is 131.

11:15 am: Voters participate in the electoral process at Crowder Memorial College in Lokoja.

11:12 am: Guber candidate Dino Melaye says result sheets were tampered with in Ogori/Magongo.

11:02 am: Party agent spotted helping resident cast her vote in Iluafon quarters, Aiyetoro 1, Ijumu LGA.

10:59 am: Reports reveal massive turnout in Upogoro/Udeku polling units 1 and 2 where the Kogi governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Usman Ododo, voted.

10:58 am: INEC reacts to filled result forms and says, “Our attention has been drawn to a report that filled result sheets were discovered in some polling units in Kogi State. The Commission views this situation seriously. Our senior officials deployed to the State are currently investigating the incident(s). The Commission will communicate its decision earnestly.”

10:53 am: Protest in a Polling Unit in Kogi after INEC officials arrived with pre-recorded results.

10:50 am: Governor Yahaya Bello, Barr. Aminat Bello, three wives cast their votes.

10:48 am: An aged man who was the first to arrive in his polling unit could not cast his vote as the BVAS failed to capture his face.

10:46 am: Pre-recorded results declaring APC candidate Ododo the winner of the Kogi poll posted on the internet.

10:30 am: Usman Ododo, the governorship candidate of the APC, has just cast his vote in PU003, Upogoro-Odenku, Okene LGA. “I am confident of winning,” he said after voting.

10: 15 am: Reports from Ogori/Magongo have it that INEC officials have parked their materials into their bus after voters insisted on sighting the original results sheets, which they could not provide.

There are also reports of prefilled result sheets discovered in the ward. Ogori/Magongo is one of the strongholds of Senator Natasha Akpoti-Uduaghan of the PDP in Kogi Central.

10 am: Kogi Accord Party Governorship Candidate, Retired Vice Admiral Jibril Usman cast his vote in Okura, Dekina LGA.

9: 50 am: APC guber candidate Ahmed Ododo arrives in Polling Unit 12, Ward 001, Upogoro/Odenku in Okene for voting.

9:49 am: Voting is not taking place in units 004 and 008 in Ogugu ward of Ogori Magongo due to a lack of result sheets.

9: 40am: Some voters are disorderly in PU004, Idanuhua, Adavi LGA. There appears to be confusion over the failure of BVAS to accredit voters.

9:33 am: Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello has cast his vote at his polling unit 11 located in Okene Agassa.

9:30 am: Voting has commenced in Sango Ward 1, Aiyetoro-Gbede, Ijumu LGA.

8:55 am: INEC officials are having difficulties accrediting a voter in PU002, Ucheba ward, Adavi LGA.

8: 50 am: An INEC official briefs voters on the voting procedures in Demonstration Primary School, Odokoro, Ijumu LGA. Speaking in Yoruba language, he tells them that voting will end at 2:30 pm.

8:40 am: Voting has commenced at Ward Owoli-apa 002, PU 005, Idah LGA. Party agents are voting first. This is where Murtala Ajaka, the SDP governorship candidate, will cast his vote

8:20 am: INEC staff have set up election materials in Idah LGA, Ward Ede Alaba, Polling Unit 002. Voters are checking for their names on the register and four police officers have arrived.

8:15 am: INEC officials are setting up at Omepa Primary School, Ward 01, PU 008, Idah LGA, Kogi State. Voters are already on site. The presiding officer says there are too many officials (5) for just one polling unit. According to the register, 1,599 voters are expected in the polling unit.

8:12 am: INEC Officials readily set at PU016, Nagati farm centre, Adavi LGA, Kogi. Voters have converged on the queue. About 11 voters can be seen queuing and the INEC officials are preparing to commence the process.

8:06 am: INEC officials are set at Open space, Iluafon quarters, Aiyetoro 1, Ijumu LGA, Kogi. This is the polling unit of the Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Sen. Dino Melaye. An INEC official says voting will commence at 8:30 am.

8:00 am: INEC officials are already on ground setting up at PU 036, Nagati farm centre, Adavi LGA. Although there is no voter around yet. One of the officials claimed voting exercise would commence at exactly 8:30 am.

Today, November 11, 2023, the people of Kogi State will decide who becomes the next governor of the state. 

The battle for the Lugard House has been very rough since the commencement of electioneering campaigns in the state, and like the other two states of Bayelsa, and Imo,  the issue of insecurity has been on the front burner.

Of the three states having elections today, Kogi is the only state where a sitting governor is not in the race. Governor Yahaya Bello has almost served his eight-year term of office. However, his anointed candidate, Usman Ododo will be facing other 18 candidates in the struggle for the Lugard House.

Other strong contenders in today’s election are Senator Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP,  Adejo Okeme of the Labour Party, LP,  and the Social Democratic Party’s Murtala Ajaka. will bring you updates and situation reports as all eyes are fixed on the confluence state today.

Follow this thread for more.

Leave a reply