FULL LIST: President Tinubu Appoints New Service Chiefs, Names Ribadu NSA


President Bola Tinubu, on Monday, appointed new service chiefs in the country and named a former Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Nuhu Ribadu, as his new National Security Adviser (NSA).

Ribadu replaces Babagana Monguno as the nation’s NSA.

Tinubu also approved the appointment of Adeniyi Adewale as the Acting Comptroller General of Customs, even as he removed all service chiefs that he met in office.

“It is to be noted that the appointed Service Chiefs, the Inspector-General of Police and the Comptroller General of Customs are to act in their positions, pending their confirmation in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” said a statement by Willie Bassey, the Director of Information on behalf of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume.

The move by the President followed persistent calls by civil society organisations that the security architecture be rejigged and fresh hands allowed to handle the nation’s security apparatus.

During his inauguration speech, Tinubu promised to “defend the nation from terror and all forms of criminality that threaten the peace and stability of our country”, adding that “to effectively tackle this menace, we shall reform both our security doctrine and its architecture”.

See full list:

Newly appointed Service Chiefs
1Mallam Nuhu RibaduNational Security Adviser (NSA)
2Maj. Gen. C.G MusaChief of Defence Staff (CDS)
3Maj. Gen. T. A LagbajaChief of Army Staff (COAS)
4Rear Admiral E. A OgallaChief of Naval Staff (CNS)
5AVM H.B AbubakarChief of Air Staff (CAS)
6DIG Kayode EgbetokunAg Inspector-General of Police
7Maj. Gen. EPA UndiandeyeChief of Defense Intelligence
Other appointments
1Col. Adebisi OnasanyaBrigade of Guards Commander
2Lt. Col. Moshood Abiodun Yusuf7 Guards Battalion, Asokoro, Abuja
3Lt. Col. Auwalu Baba Inuwa177, Guards Battalion, Keffi, Nasarawa State
4Lt. Col. Mohammed J. Abdulkarim102 Guards Battalion, Suleja, Niger
5Lt. Col. Olumide A. Akingbesote176 Guards Battalion, Gwagwalada, Abuja
6Maj.  Isa Farouk Audu (N/14695)Commanding Officer State House Artillery
7Capt. Kazeem Olalekan Sunmonu (N/16183)Second-in-Command, State House Artillery
8Maj. Kamaru Koyejo Hamzat (N/14656)Commanding Officer, State House Military Intelligence
9Maj. T. S. Adeola (N/12860)Commanding Officer, State House Armament
10Lt. A. Aminu (N/18578)Second-in- Command, State House Armament
11Hadiza Bala UsmanSpecial Adviser, Policy Coordination
12Hannatu  Musa MusawaSpecial Adviser, Culture and Entertainment Economy
13Sen. Abdullahi Abubakar GumelSenior Special Assistant , National Assembly Matters  (Senate)
14Hon. (Barr) Olarewaju Kunle IbrahimSenior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters  (HoR)

Leave a reply