Tribunal sacks three PDP lawmakers in Plateau


Three Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) legislators were dismissed by the National and State Assembly Tribunal in Jos, the capital of Plateau, for lack of organization.


The representatives for the State House of Assembly’s Langtang Central, Rukuba/Iregwe, and Pengana seats are Remvyat Nanbol, Agbalak Adukuchill, and Happiness Akawu.

The panel headed by Justice Muhammad Tukur issued its ruling, concluding that the PDP was not constitutionally authorized to sponsor the fired MPs because it disobeyed court orders to hold ward congresses that would have given it a legitimate structure.

Tukur added that the PDP lacked structure and therefore could not sponsor candidates for an election.

The tribunal further explained that the petitioners had the locus standi to challenge the participation or inclusion of PDP in the election.

The chairman of the tribunal ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to withdraw Certificates of Return from the sacked lawmakers and issue new ones to the winners of the election.

Dr. Nentawe Yiltwatda, governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the election, is challenging the victory of Governor Caleb Mutfwang, who contested under PDP.

INEC declared Mutfwang winner of the poll after polling 525,299 votes beating Yiltwatda, who polled 481,370 but the APC candidate went to court to challenge the victory.

The tribunal had earlier sacked four PDP National Assembly members, including a senator, over party structure.

Leave a reply