Laguda replaces Femi Gbajabiamila in Surulere by-elections


The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate for the Surulere Federal Constituency I bye-election in Lagos, Fuad Laguda, has emerged victorious in the poll.


With 11,203 votes, the Independent National Electoral Commission, or INEC, proclaimed him the election’s victor on Saturday.


Prof. Simeon Adebayo, the Returning Officer for the bye-election, announced the results and stated that the APC candidate received the most votes.


Adeola Adebanjo of the Labour Party and Jerry Afemighie of the Peoples Democratic Party, Laguda’s principal opponents, were defeated.


It was earlier  reported that Femi Gbajabiamila resigned to take a position as President Bola Tinubu’s chief of staff, leaving the seat empty.

Below is the full result:

ADC – 40

APC – 11, 203

APGA – 6

APM – 7

APP – 4

LP – 240

NNPP – 8

PDP – 278

SDP – 2

YPP – 9

ZLP – 4

Leave a reply